Opera Software

Cookie Preferences

Press Page Down and Page Up to switch slides

These settings give you control of Opera's cookie handling.

You can decide whether cookies should be treated on a general basis, based on per-server rules or display a multiple choice dialog in each individual case.

Normal cookies are sent from the site you are visiting, while third party cookies are sent from a different server (such as an advertisement server) and may be re-used on different servers and sites than the one you were on when the cookie was set.

Server manager

You can also choose to handle cookies based on which site sets them, for example accept cookies from www.example.org, but refuse cookies from www.example.com.

As you browse the Web, cookies set on your computer are collected and displayed in the Server Manager, so you control how they are handled.

By default, all servers will be treated according to your general cookie preferences, but you can create particular rules for particular servers if you want to.

  1. Click "Manage cookies".
  2. Find the server by typing in the "Quick find" field or clicking the list.
  3. Click "Edit" to decide how to treat cookies from that particular server.

If you enable settings for the entire domain on the server www.example.org, the settings will apply for all servers in the example.org domain, like www2.example.org and www4.www3.example.org.

Tip: The Server manager can also be used for managing Wand log-ins.

Delete on exit

Some Web sites require you to accept cookies to use their services. If you want to make sure that sites work, while avoiding to keep cookies between visits, make Opera delete all cookies every time you close the browser.

Not all cookies are set up according to the generally recognized specifications. If you only want to receive cookies that follow these standards, disable cookies with incorrect paths.

Password-protected pages

If you log in to use a Web site, the log-in page will always be deleted from Opera's cache when you exit.

To make sure that Web pages you have visited within a password-protected site are also deleted, check the option to use cookies to trace password-protected pages.

Note: Checking this option will also prevent the password-protected pages from appearing in your global history, and links to these pages will not be marked as visited.

Learn more about cookies