To browse without leaving any trace of the websites you visit, you can use a private tab or window. This is especially useful if you are using someone else's computer, or planning a surprise that you want to keep secret. When you close a private tab, the following data related to the tab is deleted:
- browsing history
- items in cache
A closed private tab or window cannot be recovered from the "Closed Tabs" drop-down on the right side of the tab bar.
While private tabs or windows do not leave any record of the websites you visit, if you deliberately save data, for example, if you save a bookmark, or download a file, it will still be visible after the tab is closed.
Create a private tab ¶
To create a private tab, selectfrom the menu. Alternatively, Ctrl-click the tab bar and select "New Private Tab" from the context menu.
Close a private tab
Close a private tab in the same way as a normal tab. To close all the private tabs you have open at once, Ctrl-click a tab and select "Close All Private Tabs".
Private windows ¶
If you prefer to use separate windows when browsing, rather than tabs, you can create a private window by selecting. Closing the window removes all traces of your browsing.