Download and manage files

download in-progress screen cap

When you download a file from a website, a download message appears below the right side of the combined address and search bar. This message shows a progress bar of the download, and disappears when the download is complete.

A new icon appears at the right side of the combined address and search bar, too. Click this to see a list of your most recently downloaded files, or clear them from your download history.

To view a detailed list of your downloaded files, launch the files from the broswer, or restart a download if your connection was interrupted, select 'Downloads' from the main menu.

You can change the default download location in your preferences. To do so:

  1. From the main menu, select 'Settings'.
  2. Click 'Browser' on the sidebar.
  3. Under 'Downloads', click the 'Change...' button.
  4. Navigate to the folder you wish to have downloads saved to and click 'Select'.

Here, you can also set the browser to ask you where you'd like to save files every time you download.

Manage saved passwords

When you log in to a website, Opera gives you the option to save your password. If you click 'Never for this site', that site will be added to Opera's 'Never saved' list. Saved passwords are managed in the Password Manager.

By default, Opera will offer to save your passwords. To disable this offering:

  1. From the main menu, select 'Settings'.
  2. Click 'Advanced' on the sidebar.
  3. Under 'Passwords', untick the 'Offer to save passwords I enter on the web' checkbox.

To view your passwords:

  1. From the main menu, select 'Settings'.
  2. Click 'Advanced' on the sidebar.
  3. Under 'Passwords', click the 'Manage saved passwords' button.

From there you can view and search through saved passwords, or block passwords from being saved on specific sites.

To delete a password, hover over the site name of the password you want to remove and click the close/delete that appears.

Save a page locally

If you want to save a page for viewing offline or archive what a page looked like at a certain point in time, select Page > Save As… from the main menu. Alternatively, you can press Ctrl+S from your keyboard.