Opera Software
  1. Toolbars
  2. Menus
  3. Panels
  4. Speed Dial
  5. Bookmarks
  6. Extensions
  7. Opera Widgets
  8. Notes
  9. Geolocation
  10. Opera Link
  11. Opera Turbo
  12. Opera Unite
  13. Content blocking
  14. Fraud and Malware Protection
  15. BitTorrent
  16. Display modes
  17. Developer tools
  18. Preferences
  19. Advanced Preferences
  20. Skins
  21. Keyboard shortcuts
  22. Using the mouse
  23. Using voice
  24. E-mail and news
  25. Feeds
  26. Chat
  27. Dialogs
  28. Auto-update
  29. Backing up Opera

Fraud and Malware Protection

Press Page Down and Page Up to switch slides.

Fraud and Malware Protection warns you about suspicious webpages by checking the page you request against a database of known "phishing" and "malware" websites. To protect yourself when entering sensitive information, always look for the lock in the security badge.

Security status

With Fraud and Malware Protection enabled, every webpage you request is subjected to phishing and malware filters, and the status of the page is displayed as a badge on the left side of the address field, as indicated in the table below. Clicking on the badge reveals additional information.

Security Badge Status
Trusted
Secure connection, with verified identity
Secure
Secure connection
Web
Regular website
Turbo
Website accelerated by Opera Turbo
Local
File or folder on your computer
Fraud Warning
Blacklisted site, with Fraud Warning
Malware Warning
Blacklisted site, with Malware Warning

When the connection is secure, a lock is displayed in the security badge, implying that no one else can read the information that passes between you and the site. A process called Extended Validation (EV) can be used to verify the identity of the site owners.

If a website is found on the blacklist, you will be presented with a warning page, and you can decide whether to visit the website, or to go to back safely to the previous page. Fraud and Malware Protection does not cause any delay in the opening of webpages.

Read more about Opera's Fraud and Malware Protection.

Enabling/Disabling Fraud and Malware Protection

Fraud and Malware Protection is enabled by default. It can be disabled/enabled from Settings > Preferences > Advanced > Security by unchecking/checking the box marked "Enable Fraud and Malware Protection."